Country:- United States

Friday 9 November, 2018

Architects release their eighth album, Holy Hell, today via UNFD/Epitaph Records. The release, which at times seemed as impossible as possible, has already been heralded as a “cathartic, emotional stunner” (Kerrang), “a victory” (Metal Hammer) and led Revolver to say “the band hasn’t lost a step.”

Holy Hell is the band’s first studio album since critically acclaimed record All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us, which charged straight to the top of the ARIA Chart, landing at #2 – the highest ever chart position of their career in not only Australia, but the rest of the world. The Brighton-based band also appeared at UNIFY Gathering 2018, and have sold out multiple Australian tours in past years.

Click below to watch the video for “Modern Misery”.

“I was desperate not to continue as some shitty, half-arsed version that paled in comparison to what we were before. I’d rather have thrown in the towel,” explains Dan Searle in an interview with Alternative Press, referring to continuing the band after the heart-wrenching loss of his twin brother and Architects’ co-founder, Tom Searle.

“There was no band for a period of time. It was just a group of best friends and we were lucky to have each other,” Sam Carter offered in a recent Kerrang cover story. Architects take fans behind-the-scenes of the triumphant return that is Holy Hell with the documentary, “Holy Ghost”, chronicling various periods of their recording sessions as well as riveting, bittersweet footage from Architects’ February 2018, sold out performance to 10,000 fans at London’s Alexandra Palance.

Click below to watch the “Holy Ghost” documentary.

Reviews for the 11-song album have been outstanding across the board, with DIY calling it “powerfully honest, and refreshingly unfiltered, Total Guitar dubbing it “the year’s most affecting metal record” and Cryptic Rock saying the band “deliver their most poignant and truly moving record to date.”

Physical and digital links to purchase/stream the album can be found via the band’s website at

Architects have announced an extensive European tour for early 2019, with news of further worldwide touring coming soon.

Architects is Sam Carter (vocals), Adam Christianson (guitar), Ali Dean (bass), Josh Middleton (guitar) and Dan Searle (drums).

Architects – Holy Hell is out now via UNFD

1. Death Is Not Defeat
2. Hereafter
3. Mortal After All
4. Holy Hell
5. Damnation
6. Royal Beggars
7. Modern Misery
8. Dying To Heal
9. The Seventh Circle
10. Doomsday
11. A Wasted Hymn