Country:- United States

Friday 19 October, 2018

“Their new magnum opus.” – Hysteria Magazine (10/10 stars) 

Rue is honestly a work of art.” – Wall of Sound (9.5/10 stars) 

“Hellions have once again delivered, creating one of the best albums of the year.” – Upside (5/5 stars)


Today, Hellions release their long-awaited fourth album Rue via UNFD. The new album features singles ‘X (Mwah)’ and current triple j favourite ‘Smile’, and follows on from their critically-acclaimed theatrical masterpiece Opera Oblivia – which debuted at #4 on the chart in 2016 and was nominated for an ARIA award that same year.

To celebrate the release of their new record, Hellions will be holding in-store appearances throughout release week, including at Utopia Records in Sydney on Friday October 19, Phase 4 Records in Brisbane on Saturday October 20, and 24Hundred in Melbourne on Wednesday October 24. All details can be found here.

Revered for their explosive live shows, Hellions will also bring their splendour and riotous joy to intimate rooms in Brisbane, Melbourne and Sydney this week, where they will showcase songs from Rue – their widescreen, technicolour masterpiece.

Click below to watch the music video for “Smile”.


On Rue, the band explains: “Rue is the result of the better part of two years writing and three months spent in the studio. An artist’s reach has to exceed his grasp if something of lasting value is to be created, and there are moments of very real terror in that process. We abandoned our comfort in search of the sound that would become Rue, having completed a near entirely different rendition of it before going back to the drawing board. Its nourishment came at a considerable psychological cost but it took the abandoned songs and the sharp changes in direction for Rue to realise its full potential.

“The five of us couldn’t more proud of the result and couldn’t be happier to present it to you today. Thank you for waiting.”

How can we overcome our struggles with one another if we don’t fully understand the one raging inside ourselves? It’s this very question Hellions explore on Rue and there’s never been a better time for an album that explores this tussling duality the band describe as “the co-existence of a Jekyll and Hyde operating within a person at any one time”.

Rue builds upon the marriage of theatrical dynamics and thoughtful lyricism that defined the genre-melding Australian quartet’s critically acclaimed previous offering, 2016’s third collection Opera Oblivia. The resulting record is deeper and darker, with melodies that are more beautiful, and riffs that are more seismic.

The tracks on Rue are divided into the ‘pessimistic’ and ‘humanitarian’ sides of life. Opening tracks (“Blueberry)” and “Odyssey” deal with the former, examining how the high consciousness we possess has led to a culture of egocentricity and opportunism, though it’s accompanied by jaunty, bombastic guitars reminiscent of Black Parade-era My Chemical Romance. It’s safe to say Rue is an album in which message and music are often tonally juxtaposed, requiring the listener to really listen. So while the funky, danceable “X (Mwah)” is actually about abandoning hope in favour of recklessness, “26” is a rousing anthem about the quest for happiness.

To bring the remarkable sonic scope to life, Hellions returned to the serenity of Karma Sound Studios in Thailand and their producer Shane Edwards – a man Hellions have worked with for a decade and describe as “our fifth member”.

Rue is a timely record that calls for an end to complacency. Whether it’s for its remarkable music, or its powerful messages – it needs to be heard.

Hellions’ Rue is available now on 24Hundred, iTunes and all streaming services.


Hellions – Rue is out now via UNFD.
1. (Blueberry)
2. Odyssey
3. X (Mwah)
4. Smile
5. Furrow
6. (Cocoon)
7. Rue
8. (Theatre Of) (feat. Luna)
9. The Lotus
10. Get Up!
11. Harsh Light
12. 26