Country:- United States


Marcus Bridge vocals  Jonathon Deiley guitar  |  Josh Smith guitar  Brendon Padjasek bass  |  Nic Pettersen drums


Sydney metallers, Northlane, announce the upcoming release of their fifth studio album, Alien, out August 2 via UNFD.

For a band that have traditionally focused on wider issues in the outside world, Alien is easily the most personal statement of their career. “I was raised in hell but I made it out,” says Northlane vocalist Marcus Bridge. “Raised in a place I shouldn’t have been, and no child should have been. But I’ve been able to break free.”

While some long-time listeners might assume that the title Alien is a continuation of the space and futuristic themes that have characterised previous Northlane albums, it’s instead a reflection of the alienation Bridge felt as a child “who grew up in a weird, unusual household and who was bullied at school because of it”.

Produced by the band themselves, the album was recorded at Chris Blancato’s studio in Sydney, where Northlane recorded their first EP, 2010’s Hollow Existence. Bridge did his vocals at Sydney’s Electric Sun Studios, where the quintet made their 2011 debut album, Discoveries.

For a band marking their 10th anniversary in 2019, Alien is a bold leap forward; the work of a group fighting their way out of their corner by moving forward rather than looking back. Their previous three albums may have debuted in the Top 5 in Australia – with Node landing at Number One before going on to win an ARIA Award for Best Hard Rock or Heavy Metal Album, an accolade also awarded to Mesmer – but Northlane are in no mood to play it safe.


  • Node #1 ARIA chart debut
  • Node triple j feature album
  • Independent Music Award nomination for Node for Best Independent Heavy Album 2015
  • Singularity (2013) #3 ARIA chart debut
  • Singularity (2013) ARIA award nomination for Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album
  • Singularity (2013) Nominated for triple j – J Award for Album of the Year
  • Singularity (2013) #1 triple j Short Fast Loud Album of the Year
  • Singularity (2013) #1 triple j The Racket Album of the Year
  • Blunt Magazine ‘Band Of The Year’ & ‘Album Of The Year’ 2013
  • Alternative Press ‘Best International Band’ Nomination 2015
  • Metal Hammer Golden Gods ‘Best New Band’ Nomination 2014
  • Metal Hammer Golden Gods ‘Best Music Video’ Nomination 2015 – “Rot”








Visit the USA store directly here

Tour Dates